This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
SMA Fellows
Share |

The Fellowship traces its origin to 1989, when SMA President James G. Hunt asked W. Jack Duncan to Chair a committee composed of Arthur G. Bedeian and Keith Davis to investigate creating a Fellows Group within the Southern Management Association. In November, 1993, upon the Committee's recommendation, the SMA Board of Directors formally approved the formation of a Fellows Group. A set of Founding Fellows, all Fellows of the Academy of Management, who had served as either President of the Academy or the Southern Management Association, held an inaugural meeting in November 1994. The Fellowship has held an annual dinner each November since. The Founding Fellows, charged with the responsibility of organizing the Fellowship, were Arthur G. Bedeian, Louisiana State University, W. Jack Duncan, University of Alabama at Birmingham, William M. Fox, University of Florida, Robert M. Fulmer, College of William and Mary, James G. Hunt, Texas Tech University, Leon C. Megginson, Mobile College, Dennis F. Ray, Mississippi State University, Max S.Wortman, Iowa State University, and Daniel A. Wren, University of Oklahoma. 

Fellows Group Photos since 1996 (no group pic for 2002)

Election to the Fellowship is based on the following criteria:

  1. Scholarly achievements while an SMA member; those made before becoming an SMA member receive secondary consideration.
  2. Significant SMA service, including offices held, committee involvement, editorial responsibilities, and program participation. Whereas service is an important consideration, it alone is insufficient for being elected a Fellow.
  3. Minimum of five years' SMA membership and participation.

Candidates for membership must be nominated by an active SMA Fellow, and seconded by two active Fellows. Neither nominators nor seconders may be members of the faculty where a candidate received a terminal degree or currently holds an appointment. Affirmation of 60 percent of the voting Fellows is required for election.
A Dean of the Fellows, elected by the Fellowship, serves for a three-year period. An Associate Dean is appointed by the Dean for a coterminous period and is responsible for assisting the Dean in administering the Fellowship. An Historian, also appointed by the Dean, is responsible for preserving and documenting the Fellowship's heritage. Officers:
Bruce Lamont, Florida State University

Associate Dean:
Tyge Payne, Texas Tech University

Fellows Historian:
Currently Unfilled
Active Members:
David Allen, Texas Christian University
Neal Ashkanasy, University of Queensland
Tim Barnett, Mississippi State University
M. Ronald (Mike) Buckley, University of Oklahoma
James G. Combs, University of Central Florida
Russell Cropanzano, University of Colorado
Russell Crook, University of Tennessee
Angelo DeNisi, Tulane University
Gerald R. Ferris, Florida State University 
Robert C. Ford, University of Central Florida
William L. Gardner, Texas Tech University
Mark B. Gavin, West Virginia University
Lucy Gilson, University of Connecticut
Wayne Hochwarter, Florida State University
K. Michele (Micki) Kacmar, Texas State University
Dave Ketchen, Auburn University
Lisa Schurer Lambert, Oklahoma State University
Bruce Lamont, Florida State University
Kevin Lowe, University of Sydney
Mark Martinko, Florida A&M University
Kevin W. Mossholder, Auburn University
Tyge Payne, Texas Tech University
Pamela Perrewé, Florida State University
Chuck Pierce, University of Memphis
Hettie Richardson, Texas Christian University
Terri A. Scandura, University of Miami
Chester Schriesheim, University of Miami
Chris Shook, University of Montana
Jeremy C. Short, University of Oklahoma
Paul E. Spector, University of South Florida

Sherry Sullivan, Bowling Green State University
Bennett Tepper, Ohio State University
Robert Vandenberg, University of Georgia
David D. Van Fleet, Arizona State University
Larry Williams, University of Nebraska
Margaret Williams, Texas Tech University
Dave Woehr, University of North Carolina-Charlotte

Shaker A. Zahra, University of Minnesota

Emeritus Members:

Achilles Armenakis
Arthur G. Bedeian
Archie B. Carroll
W. Jack Duncan
Charles R. Greer
Bill Holley
Bruce M. Meglino
Anson Seers
Hetty van Emmerik
Daniel A. Wren
Myron D. Fottler
Theodore T. Herbert


Inactive Members:
William Fox
Robert Fulmer, Pepperdine University
J. Bernard Keys
Dennis Ray
Vida Scarpello, Georgia State University
Daniel C. Feldman
John D. Blair, Texas Tech University
Ricky W. Griffin, Texas A&M University


In Memoriam:
Robert P. Vecchio
James G. "Jerry" Hunt
Leon Megginson
Charles R. Scott
Max S. Wortman, Jr.


Sponsors of the 2020 SMA Meeting

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal