This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
2020 Receipient of the James G. Hunt SMA Sustained Outstanding Service Award

2020 James G. Hunt SMA Sustained Outstanding Service Award


The Southern Management Association (SMA) is pleased to recognize James G. (Jim)  Combs, of University of Central Florida, as the 2020 winner of its highest honor, the James G. Hunt SMA Sustained Outstanding Service Award. 

 Dr. Combs earned his PhD at Louisiana State University. He is currently the Della Phillips Martha Schenck Chair of American Private Enterprise at the University of Central Florida and Visiting Professor at the University of Ottawa. Comb’s research interests are primarily in the areas of franchising, family business, research synthesis, and corporate governance, and appears in journals such as the Academy of Management Journal, Strategic Management Journal, Journal of Management, Journal of Business Venturing, Entrepreneurship: Theory & Practice, and Organizational Research Methods. He has served as an Associate Editor at the Academy of Management Journal, Entrepreneurship: Theory & Practice, and will be joining the 2020-2023 editorial team at the Journal of Management. He has served on the Executive Committees of the Strategic Management and Entrepreneurship Divisions of the Academy of Management.  


The Hunt Award recognizes an individual who has made important and sustained contributions to SMA. Dr. Combs has served as conference track chair, board member, session chair, discussant, featured panelist , Journal of Management Editorial Review Board member, member of the Journal of Management Editor Search Committee, organizer of dozens of SMA events, and as President.

Dr. Combs commented, “SMA is where I have developed the most meaningful friendships among colleagues. It is my ‘academic home.’ Because I have so much respect for SMA, its members, and its accomplishments, I am humbled by receiving this award.”

The 2020 Hunt SOSA Selection committee was comprised of Pamela Perrewé (Chair, Florida State University), Tim Barnett (Mississippi State University), Micki Kacmar (Texas State University), and Terri Scandura (University of Miami).


Sponsors of the 2020 SMA Meeting

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal